Skip to navigation Skip to main content Skip to footer

International Scientific Advisory Board

International Scientific Advisory Board (ISAB) 

The UK Biobank International Scientific Advisory Board (ISAB) provides advice, support and guidance to the CEO/PI, Board and Funders on UK Biobank’s scientific direction, strategy, operations and the furtherance of its scientific mission.

Members give their time and expertise to the project freely and meet annually to discuss proposals that are pivotal in advancing the resource to deliver its strategy. Their broad skills and expertise ensure enhancements to UK Biobank meet the needs of the global research community, are scientifically relevant, and will meet the challenge of improving public health.

Professor Marylyn Ritchie chairs the UK Biobank ISAB

The UK Biobank ISAB is chaired by Marylyn D. Ritchie, PhD. Marylyn is a Professor in the Department of Genetics, Director of the Center for Translational Bioinformatics, Associate Director for Bioinformatics in the Institute for Biomedical Informatics at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. 

Professor Marylyn Ritchie

UK Biobank is very grateful to members of the ISAB for the time they devote to the project.

Professor Russ Altman, Stanford University Medical School, USA

Professor Sonia Anand, Population Genomics Program, McMaster University, Canada

Professor Emily Banks, ANU College of Health and Medicine, Canberra, Australia

Professor Paul Elliott, Faculty of Medicine, School of Public Health, Imperial College London

Professor Christian Happi, Molecular Biology and Genomics, Redeemers University, Nigeria

Dr Mike Gaziano, Division of Aging, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA

Professor Chris Holmes, Programme Director for Health and Medical Sciences, The Alan Turing Institute, UK

Jin Li, Professor at the National Human Genome Center, Fudan University, China

Dr Andres Moreno Estrada, Principal Investigator, LANGEBIO, Cinvestav, Mexico

Professor Nicola Mulder,  Professor and head of Computational Biology, Cape Town University

Dr Jeffrey Reid, Head of Genome Informatics and Data Engineering, Regeneron Genetics Center, USA

Professor Alison Park, Interim Executive Chair of the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), UK

Lisa Bastarache, MS,  Professor of Biomedical Informatics
Scientific, Vanderbilt University, USA

Professor Kári Stefánsson, deCODE genetics, Iceland

Yoichiro Kamatani, Laboratory of Complex Trait Genomics, Department of Computational Biology and Medical Sciences, University of Tokyo

Professor Karsten Suhre, Weill Cornell Medicine, Qatar

David Glazer, Verily Life Sciences, Nashville USA

Nick van Bruggen, Calico, San Francisco, USA

Dale Sandler, Senior Investigator, NIEHS

Jennifer Van Eyk, Research Director, Cedars-Sinai, USA

Dr Krishnaswamy VijayRaghavan, Principal Scientific Adviser at Government of India

Søren Brunak, Research Director, Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research

Matthew Hurles, Director, Wellcome Sanger Institute

Last updated