Skip to navigation Skip to main content Skip to footer

Access Sub Committee

The UK Biobank Access Sub Committee

The Access Sub-committee of the UK Biobank Board is responsible for making the key decisions about scientific access to the resource, notably those regarding the use of depletable samples or potentially contentious research.

Professor Martin Bobrow chairs the UK Biobank Access Sub Committee

Martin was, until he retired, Head of the Department of Medical Genetics. He is Honorary Faculty at the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute and Emeritus Professor of Medical Genetics, University of Cambridge.

Professor Martin Bobrow

Professor Martin Bobrow, Chair

Professor Andrew Hattersley

Professor Garret Fitzgerald

Professor Ruth Gilbert

Managing access

The process of reviewing research applications to use UK Biobank is managed by the UK Biobank Coordinating Centre, which conducts a set of standard checks and seeks advice on particular applications as required. Recommendations on each application are made by the UK Biobank Principal Investigator (or their designate) and are subject to confirmation by UK Biobank’s Access Sub-Committee. Applications that raise particular concerns (e.g. involve potentially contentious uses of the resource) will typically be referred to the Access Sub-committee or to UK Biobank’s Board.

The principles established to allow scientific access to UK Biobank are set out in the UK Biobank Ethics & Governance Framework. The detailed requirements of access are set out in the UK Biobank Access Procedures.

The functioning of the Access Procedures will be kept under review by the UK Biobank Principal Investigator (UKBPI), with UK Biobank’s Board and its Access Sub-Committee. Input from the participants, researchers, funders, UK Biobank Ethics Advisory Committee and other interested parties will be taken into account. UK Biobank’s Board will amend the Access Procedures as required on a periodic basis.

Last updated